(SOLVED) Are there any plugged 18mm Motors?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TeslaPenguin1

Director of the renowned Penguin Space Program
Reaction score
I am building a linear-3 cluster rocket. The two side engines are 18mm (A/B/C) but the center is a single 24mm (D/E) motor. I only want the ejection charge on the center motor to fire. Are there any 18mm motors without a delay charge? (I know that the -0 motors don't have a delay charge, but I am specifically asking about plugged motors)

So, which of these are single-use? I'm relatively new to model rocketry (read: approx. 1 week) and haven't gotten the hang of assembling reloadables yet.

If you're new, I would suggest sticking with black powder motors for a cluster, rather than composites. They are more difficult to simultaneously ignite. Use a 12 volt automotive battery. The extra amperage makes a difference. You can make your own plugged motors, like coyote said, by gluing some epoxy over the forward end of the propellant on booster motors. The only black powder plugged motors being currently produced that I know are the 13mm A-10PTs for the Estes rocket cars.
Ignitors are critical. I wouldn't use Estes starters for a cluster. See if you can borrow some Quest Q2G2 ignitors from a rocket buddy who might have a stash. Otherwise order some aftermarket ignitors for greater reliability.

If you're new, I would suggest sticking with black powder motors for a cluster, rather than composites. They are more difficult to simultaneously ignite.

Yes, exactly as I was saying. Due to the fact that I am new, I was looking for a simpler solution than composite motors.

Also, I read another thread where someone tried putting epoxy in the end but the heat of the epoxy setting made the motor go off (and incinerate itself). Is there anyway I can prevent this from happening?