53, First time Rocketeer

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bartlebear

Reaction score
Hi there.

when I was 10 or so I saw an Estes catalog that had a Star Wars X-Wing and Darth Vader Tie fighter in it. It totally captured my imagination. Unfortunately it didn’t capture my wallet as I was broke.

Fast forward to today and my son and I launched the Estes Alpha III and Flip Flyer. He’s cooled on it but I am just getting started! I hope to put up a build thread soon for my first rocket ever.

I’m out here in Victoria on Vancouver Island. hope I’ll meet some of you at a launch sometime.

Hello sir!

That Alpha III is quite something, my first rocket, in fact. It’s difficult to beat as a first-time kit build.

About the only other one I’d suggest you look at is the Estes Cadet. It’s inexpensive, cool-looking, and about as simple a build as you can get while still credibly being called a kit. Send it up on an A8-3 for a test flight, then try some bigger motors to open up the throttle as far as you dare.

Hmm, "First Time Rocketeer" doesn't have a nice pronounceable acronym. And you already have "Bar" in your name, so...

I suggest you give up the hobby for a week, and then come back and call yourself a BAR. It will be much simpler for all of us.

(Welcome!)

In highschool, they used to have 'college track' or 'vocational track' programs, depending on which direction you were leaning. Maybe our new friend is on the 'First Adult Rocketeer Track.'

Welcome!!!

Sandy.