Working with basswood

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Motörhead

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'd just like to know that if working with basswood, is a sharp hobby knife sufficient for cutting basswood? I've never worked with basswood before and it is my understanding that basswood is a hardwood. If a hobby knife isn't sufficient then maybe someone might care to help point me in the right direction when it comes to tools and techniques alike.

Cheers ...... Pete

Pete:
AS with just about everything, specifices are needed! if your talking about cutting 1/64 to about 3/32" basswood a shape hobby knife does a fantastic job. If you jointing a 1" x 1" or trying to cut 3/16" thick rings.... a #11 isn't the tool for the job.

I'd say in general I use the same tools to cut the same size basswood parts as I do with Balsa or styrene fin materials.
Hope this answers your question.

I'm having the same problems. Very thin basswood can be cut with an x-acto knife, though it is difficult. But if the basswood is thick enough that you can't easily flex it, you'll need power tools. A table saw or circular saw would probably be best, if you're making straight cuts. Unless you have access to fancier stuff like bandsaws and the like. I believe some folks on here use Dremels for cutting it.

I intend to try out a jigsaw on some basswood soon. I suspect that it won't be the best way to cut fins, but it's the only power saw I have. I can alwas sand them down later.

Basswood is much harder to sand than balsa, by the way. But it doesn't "dent" like balsa does. I have lots of dents in balsa fins the shape of my fingers.

I'm eager to try model aircraft plywood when I get the chance. Probably overkill, but I like trying new kinds of materials, especially wood.

One very useful tool for this kind of thing is a razor saw (X-Acto) or an Atlas Snap Saw: