Launch Rail Button Location On Larger Rocket: Need Advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NattyDread

Reaction score
I am building a 7.5" diameter dual deploy 54mm motor rocket. The total length is 96" and I am putting on 1515 rail buttons. The rocket has a long tail cone (upside down nosecone with the tip cut off) Its a lOC V2. The most secure place to mount them is 22" from the bottom of the rocket and the second one about 6" above that. Any thoughts, problems, guidelines to follow?

Sounds a little close together to me. Because of the tailcone, your bottom button has to be up farther than most rockets, but I would mount the top button up a little higher if you can. Any pics?

22" between buttons on a 96" rocket? That seems too close together to me but I'm no expert. Contact Loc. They have already made all the mistakes with that rocket and should be able to help you out.

You didn't read the post right--22" from the bottom.

The V2 shape is not that different from the PML Bulldog I have. I would have to agree with Randy, for a 96" rocket, buttons 6" apart are too close. You need another farther up the airframe. Having your first button at top of tailcone is fine. Here is my 78" long 6" dia. Bulldog with 1010 buttons ~16" apart.

ImageUploadedByRocketry Forum1400208850.660225.jpg

Last edited:
image.jpgimage.jpg. See pictures, I taped the buttons on. It's not the standard LOV kit. I stretched it for DD. Are there any guidelines for rail button placement? I cmt go much lower than the bottom one. A our 22" from the floor (fins extend beyond rocket bottom)

Wow, that is a long (non-scale) V2!

Why not move the bottom button down to the tailcone seam? Some say the top button should be approximately at the CG without motor loaded.

Wow, that is a long (non-scale) V2!