Lev 1 build thread BD Samurai

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kullas

Reaction score
Im starting my lev 1 rocket build well i started it last night. Its a Samurai from Binder Design. I ordered it before the first of the year and got a free electronics bay :clap: I went with the 38mm MT and not the 54mm MT. I decided to build the E bay first here is a pic of it

Lev1 Samurai build 001.jpg

Here is a shot of the motor mount. I held off to install it until i went to the hardware store to get some Tnuts for the motor retention

Here is a pic of the Tnuts after I got them installed

Lev1 Samurai build 002.jpg

Lev1 Samurai build.jpg

Last edited:
While i was waiting on the stores to open I went ahead and cut the fin slots in the body tube cutting fin slots is something i have never done before but after test fitting everything i think they turned out very nice. I took my time got everything layed out the lines marked and used a new #11 blade made a light pass on the cut and then came back with 2 or 3 more passes and did not have any problem took about 20 min to cut all 8 slots

Lev1 Samurai build 003.jpg

HaHa after posting this i noticed that i put it in the MPR any way i can get it moved to the HPR section :rolleyes:

HaHa after posting this i noticed that i put it in the MPR any way i can get it moved to the HPR section :rolleyes:

NO! You will only be able to fly you rocket on "G" motors now!... :p

I'm sure one of the mods will fix this for you... :D

Looking good, I appreciate all the pics, love to see how other folks do things.

It may be my Blackberry, but in the pics the tubes look a blue-gray/green. Binder Design isn't selling Blue Tube equivalent are they?

I think its a mix of my camera and the blue mat they are setting on. They are cardboard well atleast they cut like cardboard :)