Old CTI Red Lightning?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4regt4

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to CTI, just wanted to try something different. I just received a 29mm 5G H194 Red Lightning, dated 8/27/15. Or nearly 9 years old. Old AT Redlines can be a bit tough to light, but the biggest issue on old AT Redlines is that something happens to the delay grain. Burns shorter, I've heard. So...

1. Is there likely a problem getting this Red Lightning to ignite?

2. What about the delay grain?

TIA,

Hans.

I'm new to CTI, just wanted to try something different. I just received a 29mm 5G H194 Red Lightning, dated 8/27/15. Or nearly 9 years old. Old AT Redlines can be a bit tough to light, but the biggest issue on old AT Redlines is that something happens to the delay grain. Burns shorter, I've heard. So...

1. Is there likely a problem getting this Red Lightning to ignite?

2. What about the delay grain?

TIA,

Hans.
Based on my experience with AT Red Lightning, your description is dead on. The motor can chuff several times before coming up to pressure. The issue with the delay grains is they tend to ignite right away, while the motor chuffs. As a result the delay seems really short. I have a bunch of 20+ year Red Lightning reloads that I will now only fly using altimeters. But 9 years isn’t really that old in the scheme of things, especially for CTI loads that tend to be well sealed.

How any of that applies to CTI red reloads is anybody’s guess – but it’s something to consider.

Tony