You might be a child in the 70s if:

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I graduated in 1974. I don't remember ever seeing a girl in jeans in school. Mini skirts yes jeans no.
Around 1970 or so my high school allowed girls to start wearing slacks. If they wore jeans, or maybe for all girls wearing slacks, they had to wear a long shirt or sweater. I think there ended up being a lot of leeway in this. They had pretty strict rules on skirt length, had to be less than a certain amount above the knee, maybe 2". And there was a strict rule about boys sideburns. This was enforced by the coaches with dry razors.

...if you remember the 'coffee crisis' in the late 70s, an early example of shrinkflation. We had a Mr. Coffee in the grad students' research lab (THAT would go over like an osmium balloon today). Users were expected to buy a pound can of coffee in rotation. The price of beans shot up and 'pound' became '13 ounces'. Folgers even brought out nasty 'flaked' coffee that needed less for each pot. (The group's cheapskate--not me--would buy a bag of 13oz flaked until he was called out on it.)

And the one-pound coffee can/bag disappeared into the mist, forever and ever. The end. :(

[@cwbullet, Chuck, thank you for starting this thread. Seriously. It's delving up stuff from my brain's forgot-it bin. I think it's helping memory in general; certainly it can't hurt. :) ]

Around 1970 or so my high school allowed girls to start wearing slacks. If they wore jeans, or maybe for all girls wearing slacks, they had to wear a long shirt or sweater. I think there ended up being a lot of leeway in this. They had pretty strict rules on skirt length, had to be less than a certain amount above the knee, maybe 2". And there was a strict rule about boys sideburns. This was enforced by the coaches with dry razors.