CAD Software Onshape versus Tinkercad

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I use Onshape, mostly because I have quite a bit of Solidworks experience so there wasn't much of a learning curve. All the CAD in my current project below is done in Onshape. It's pretty easy to dump .stl's out for my 3d printer.
https://www.rocketryforum.com/threads/yet-another-100k-attempt.177136/
I've never used Tinkercad but it looks plenty capable for rocket part modeling as well. I wouldn't overthink it - I'd probably just spend an hour two playing with both, pick whichever felt easier to manage and run with it.

Hi @robopup,

Thank you for your response. Your Cad drawing is highly impressive.

I need to add this slightly lengthy comment regarding Onshape.

I am just learning Onshape, and so far I am favorably impressed — except with respect to invoking toolbars. Onshape's procedure for invoking toolbars is unacceptably complicated. The user should be able to bring up a Document toolbar, a Feature toolbar, a Sketch toolbar, an Assembly toolbar, or a Drawing toolbar by pressing one or two buttons. That's it.

Onshape's method of invoking toolbars is so aggravatingly difficult that it is turning into a deal-breaker for me to the point where I am contemplating just forgetting about Onshape altogether.

Anyway, the toolbar issue is obviously not your doing. And you really seem to have a strong understanding of the software. I will keep trying, but I am having difficulty with that aspect of the program.

Stanley

I've used Tinkercad for my scale sounding rocket series. I find it pretty intuitive, and I've build some pretty complicated shapes. But not parametrically. I'm a biochemist by education, so I have no prior experience with CAD. Tinkercad can be used like a 3D art program - which suits me. I use it in conjunction with Openscad part generators for fincans and such.